Italiano
italian flag link to italian language version of page
Español
Spain flag link to spanish language version of page
Français
french flag link to french language version of page
English
american flag link to english language version of page
 
beachgoers at scenic rock

Beach at Castel di Tusa

Castel Di Tusa

One of Sicily's many secrets

Bref histoire de la Sicile

Des personnes ont vécu dans l'île depuis 10.000 ans avant JC.

Les Sicanis, de la péninsule ibérique, sont arrivé en Sicile environ 4000 ans avant JC et se sont installés principalement dans les zones centrale et occidentale de l'île. Les Sicules, de la péninsule italienne, ont suivit environ en 1200 avant JC et se sont installés dans la zone orientale. Les Elymnians, Grecs d'Asie Mineure et réfugiés de la diaspora de Troie, y ont finalement établi leurs enclaves autour de 600 avant JC.

Des preuves de présence de Phéniciens, provenant du Liban, ont été relevées dans plusieurs zones de l'île. Ils ont en effet dominé l'île avant l'arrivée des Grecs. Les Romains ont conquérit l'île aux Grecs et Carthaginois (descendants des Phéniciens) et sont resté les maîtres incontestés jusqu'au 7ème siècle après JC.

En savoir plus sur Castel di Tusa

coastline at Castel di Tusa

Des Vacances

CASTEL DI TUSA est la destination idéale pour des vacances en Sicile et pour découvrir l'histoire fascinante et la culture unique de la plus grande île de la mer Méditerranée. Les meilleures saisons pour visiter l'île sont l'automne et le printemps. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser la ville de Castel di Tusa comme base de départ pour explorer et savourer l'histoire, la culture, les traditions, les paysages naturels et une cuisine incomparable... [lire la suite]

La cuisine Sicilienne

L'île est dotée d'une cuisine superbe, le produit de siècles d'expérimentation et d’influences extérieures.

Pendant la saison, les poivrons frits, les artichauts marinés, les champignons sautés, le thon, les olives assorties, la salade de calmar et de poulpe, les courgettes et les aubergines (frites, marinées, farcies) sont les hors-d’œuvre préférés par les Siciliens. ..... [lire la suite]

sunset in Castel di Tusa

Temps, Comment y Aller, Des Informations

La Sicile bénéficie du climat méditerranéen, chaud et humide pendant l'été, doux et sec (autours de 20-25 °C) pendant l'automne et le printemps et froid pendant les mois d'hiver.

Castel di Tusa est connecté à Palerme et Messine par une route nationale à grande vitesse et par la route régionale pittoresque... [lire la suite]

sea urchins in boxes on table fresh from sea

Des excursions d'une seule journée

Des excursions d'une seule journée vous permettront de visiter les ruines historiques gréco-romaines de Tyndaris, Taormina, Segesta, Selinunte, Piazza Armerina, Syracuse et Agrigente.

Des bref voyages de Cefalù et Milazzo jusqu’aux îles volcanique Eoliennes permettent aux visiteurs... [lire la suite]

Au cours des 1500 dernières années, les Arabes, les Normands, les Barbares, les Goths, les Byzantins, les Souabes (Allemands), les Angevins, les Albanais, les Espagnol, les Juifs et les Italiens se sont installés en Sicile. Vous trouverez de nombreux habitants avec les cheveux bruns et les yeux foncés et un nombre significatif de personnes avec les cheveux roux et blonds et les yeux bleus. En conséquence, il n'y a pas de définition ou description simple des habitants de la Sicile.

Les Siciliens ont des racines multiculturelles et multiethniques. Les nombreuses invasions de l'Europe, de l’Asie et de l’Afrique qui finirent au Moyen Age, ont laissé un melting-pot mono glotte.

La langue sicilienne, plus d'un dialecte vibrant, est petit à petit en train de mourir, au fur et à mesure que les jeunes générations sont de plus en plus intégrées dans la société Italienne. La langue a ses racines principales dans les langues grecque, latin et arabe. Aujourd'hui, elle fleurie encore dans les chansons, la poésie, et les pièces de théâtre. De nombreux Festivals célèbrent le long de l’année la culture de l'île et les traditions. Beaucoup de coutumes siciliennes et de rituels survivent encore aujourd’hui.

La Sicile est maintenant une région autonome d'Italie. Palerme est sa capitale. Il y a neuf provinces: Palerme, Messine, Catane, Syracuse, Raguse, Agrigente, Trapani, Enna et Caltanissetta.

Les Siciliens sont un peuple hospitalier et sympathique.

Home

Cuisine

Weather, Getting There, Information

Day Trips

Brief History of Sicily

Italiano
italian flag link to italian language version of page
Español
Spain flag link to spanish language version of page
Français
french flag link to french language version of page
English
american flag link to english language version of page
 
beachgoers at scenic rock

Beach at Castel di Tusa

Castel Di Tusa

One of Sicily's many secrets

Brief History of Sicily

People have lived in the island as far back as 10,000 years B.C.

The Sicanis, from the Iberian Peninsula, arrived in Sicily about 4,000 B.C., and settled primarily on the central and western parts of the island. The Sikels followed, around 1,200 B.C., from the Italian peninsula and settled in the eastern part. The Elymnians, Greeks from Asia Minor, reputed refugees from the diaspora of Troy, established their enclaves around 600 B.C.

Evidence of Phoenicians, from Lebanon, has been established in several parts of the island. They dominated the island prior to the arrival of the Greeks. The Roman Empire wrestled the island from the Greeks and Carthaginians (descendants of the Phoenicians) and remained the undisputed rulers until the 7th century A.D.

More about Castel Di Tusa

Overview | Cuisine | Information | Daytrips

coastline at Castel di Tusa

Overview

CASTEL DI TUSA is the perfect destination for an extended vacation in Sicily and for exploring the intriguing history and unique culture of the largest island in the greater Mediterranean Sea. Best time to visit the island is in the Fall and Spring. You can use the destination as home base for exploring and savoring the history, culture, traditions, natural surroundings, and unmatched cuisine. [more]

Cuisine

The island is blessed with a superb cuisine, the product of centuries of experimentation and external influences. In season, fried peppers, pickled artichokes, sautéed mushrooms, tuna, assorted olives, calamari and octopus salad, zucchini, and eggplant (fried, pickled, stuffed) dominate the antipasto table. Unique to Sicily, are several pasta dishes: pasta with fresh sardines and wild fennel, pasta with cauliflower and pasta with squid ink sauce are a few examples... [more]

sunset in Castel di Tusa

Weather, Getting There, Information

Sicily enjoys the Mediterranean climate, hot and humid during the summer, mild and drier during fall and spring (in the 70-80 range), and on the chilly side during the winter months.

There are daily flights to and from the Italian Peninsula, Germany, and Great Britain to the island’s three main airports. Palermo’s Punta Raisi airport... [more]

sea urchins in boxes on table fresh from sea

Day Trips

Day trips can be made to historical Greco-Roman ruins in Tyndaris, Taormina, Segesta, Selinunte, Piazza Armerina, Syracuse, and Agrigento.

Day trips, from nearby Cefalù and Milazzo, to the nearby volcanic Aeolian Islands... [more]

Over the past 1,500 years, Arabs, Normans, Vandals, Goths, Byzantines, Swabians (Germans), Angevins (French), Albanians, Spanish, Jewish, and Italians have settled in Sicily. You will find many locals with brown hair and dark eyes and a significant number with red and blondish hair and blue eyes. As a result, there is no easy definition or description of its people.

Sicilians have multicultural, multiethnic roots. The many invasions from Europe, Asia and Africa ended in the Middle Ages, leaving behind a monoglot melting pot.

The Sicilian language, more than a dialect, once vibrant is slowly dying out, as younger generations are becoming more integrated into Italian Society. The language has its principal roots in the Greek, Latin and Arabic languages. Today, it still flourishes in songs, poetry, and plays. Festivals celebrate the island’s culture and traditions year-around. Many unique Sicilian customs and rituals survive to this day.

Sicily is now an autonomous region of Italy. Palermo is its capital. There are nine provinces: Palermo, Messina, Catania, Syracuse, Ragusa, Agrigento, Trapani, Enna, and Caltanissetta.

Sicilians are a hospitable and friendly people.

Home

Cuisine

Weather, Getting There, Information

Day Trips

Brief History of Sicily