Italiano
italian flag link to italian language version of page
Español
Spain flag link to spanish language version of page
Français
french flag link to french language version of page
English
american flag link to english language version of page
 
olive table in open air market in Castel di Tusa

Marché en plein air à Castel di Tusa

Castel Di Tusa

Un des nombreux secrets de la Sicile

La cuisine Sicilienne

L'île est dotée d'une cuisine superbe, le produit de siècles d'expérimentation et d’influences extérieures.

Pendant la saison, les poivrons frits, les artichauts marinés, les champignons sautés, le thon, les olives assorties, la salade de calmar et de poulpe, les courgettes et les aubergines (frites, marinées, farcies) sont les hors-d’œuvre préférés par les Siciliens. beautiful Sicilian dish of seafood and vegetablesUnique en Sicile, sont des particuliers plats de pâtes: pâtes avec sardines fraîches et fenouil sauvage, pâtes au chou-fleur et pâtes à l'encre de calmar ne sont que quelques exemples.

L'île produit une abondance de fruits et légumes délicieux. Citron, orange et oliviers parsèment l'île. Les raisins sont cultivés en grande quantité au sud-ouest où un certain nombre de vins de renommée mondiale sont produits. Les connaisseurs de vin peuvent visiter cette région et goûter à la qualité unique de vins siciliens.

En savoir plus sur Castel di Tusa

coastline at Castel di Tusa

Des Vacances

CASTEL DI TUSA est la destination idéale pour des vacances en Sicile et pour découvrir l'histoire fascinante et la culture unique de la plus grande île de la mer Méditerranée. Les meilleures saisons pour visiter l'île sont l'automne et le printemps. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser la ville de Castel di Tusa comme base de départ pour explorer et savourer l'histoire, la culture, les traditions, les paysages naturels et une cuisine incomparable... [lire la suite]

sunset in Castel di Tusa

Temps, Comment y Aller, Des Informations

La Sicile bénéficie du climat méditerranéen, chaud et humide pendant l'été, doux et sec (autours de 20-25 °C) pendant l'automne et le printemps et froid pendant les mois d'hiver.

Castel di Tusa est connecté à Palerme et Messine par une route nationale à grande vitesse et par la route régionale pittoresque... [lire la suite]

sea urchins in boxes on table fresh from sea

Des excursions d'une seule journée

Des excursions d'une seule journée vous permettront de visiter les ruines historiques gréco-romaines de Tyndaris, Taormina, Segesta, Selinunte, Piazza Armerina, Syracuse et Agrigente.

Des bref voyages de Cefalù et Milazzo jusqu’aux îles volcanique Eoliennes permettent aux visiteurs... [lire la suite]

rock formation at seashore at Castel di Tusa

Bref histoire de la Sicile

Des personnes ont vécu dans l'île depuis 10.000 ans avant JC.

Les Sicanis, de la péninsule ibérique, sont arrivé en Sicile environ 4000 ans avant JC et se sont installés principalement dans les zones centrale ...[lire la suite]

Les fruits de mer frais sont disponibles tous les jours; espadon, thon et autres poissons sont toujours abondant. Le même peux ce dire pour une variété de palourdes, moules et crevettes. L'un des favoris des habitants est le calmar et ses cousins : la seiche et le poulpe.

pastry cake made in Castel di TusaLes Arabes ont introduit le riz en Europe à travers la Sicile. Ils sont également reconnus comme les inventeurs de la crème glacée et du sorbet. Avant de l’arrivé des Arabes, les Européens obtenaient le sucre à partir de la betterave. Ce sont les Arabes à avoir introduit la canne à sucre. Le mass pain est aussi une importation Arabe, pleinement exploités par les confiseurs de nombreux pays insulaires.

sausages made in Castel di Tusa hanging in shopIl y a deux aspects uniques de la cuisine sicilienne. Le premier, la ‘cucina povera’ (cuisine pauvre) comprend de nombreux plats de pâtes avec des légumes. Le deuxième, la ‘cucina baroniale’ (d'inspiration française) est plus élégante et riche. La noblesse locale avait importé des Chefs de la France à la fin des années 1800 pour améliorer les habitudes alimentaires locales.

Cependant, ce qui sépare la Sicile du reste de l'Italie est la nourriture de rue: ‘Arancini’ (boulettes de riz frites et farcies de ragoût ou fromage), ‘Pane e Panelle’ (raviolis de pois chiches frits), ‘Sfincione’ (pizza sicilienne), ‘Lumache’ (escargots), ‘Stigliole’ (intestin) et ‘Pane ‘ca meusa’ (rate). Les trois derniers sont un goût acquis.

Restaurants locaux

Castel di Tusa a sept excellents restaurants, cinq ouvert toute l'année. Le prix d'un dîner est comprit entre 20 et 30 Euro. Une portion de pizza coute à peut prés 8 Euro.

friendly staff in cafe in Castel di TusaLa ville dispose également de cinq cafés, offrant entre autres, café espresso fraîchement infusé, jus de fruits et snacks.

coffee and pastryPar exemple, Pino et Cristoforo Alfieri, les propriétaires du bar Porto Snack-Marin, cuisent leurs pâtisseries (Cannoli, Pizzette, Cartocci, Croissants) très tôt chaque matin et font leur propre crème glacée artisanales et une variété de granités (citron, d'amande, mûre, fraise et mûre de Boysen). Nunzia, la femme de Pino, est toujours prête à vous préparer un plat de pâtes en utilisant les ingrédients les plus frais.

 

Home

Cuisine

Weather, Getting There, Information

Day Trips

Brief History of Sicily

Italiano
italian flag link to italian language version of page
Español
Spain flag link to spanish language version of page
Français
french flag link to french language version of page
English
american flag link to english language version of page
 
olive table in open air market in Castel di Tusa

Open air market at Castel di Tusa

Castel Di Tusa

One of Sicily's many secrets

The Sicilian Cuisine

The island is blessed with a superb cuisine, the product of centuries of experimentation and external influences.

In season, fried peppers, pickled artichokes, sautéed mushrooms, tuna, assorted olives, calamari and octopus salad, zucchini, and eggplant (fried, pickled, stuffed) dominate the antipasto table. beautiful Sicilian dish of seafood and vegetablesUnique to Sicily, are several pasta dishes: pasta with fresh sardines and wild fennel, pasta with cauliflower and pasta with squid ink sauce are a few examples.

The island produces a cornucopia of delicious fruits and vegetables. Lemon, orange and olive groves dot the island. Grapes are grown in large quantity in the South West, where a number of world-class wines are produced. The wine connoisseur can visit this region and sample the unique quality of Sicilian wines.

More about Castel Di Tusa

Overview | Information | Daytrips | History

coastline at Castel di Tusa

Overview

CASTEL DI TUSA is the perfect destination for an extended vacation in Sicily and for exploring the intriguing history and unique culture of the largest island in the greater Mediterranean Sea. Best time to visit the island is in the Fall and Spring. You can use the destination as home base for exploring and savoring the history, culture, traditions, natural surroundings, and unmatched cuisine. [more]

sunset in Castel di Tusa

Weather, Getting There, Information

Sicily enjoys the Mediterranean climate, hot and humid during the summer, mild and drier during fall and spring (in the 70-80 range), and on the chilly side during the winter months.

There are daily flights to and from the Italian Peninsula, Germany, and Great Britain to the island’s three main airports. Palermo’s Punta Raisi airport... [more]

sea urchins in boxes on table fresh from sea

Day Trips

Day trips can be made to historical Greco-Roman ruins in Tyndaris, Taormina, Segesta, Selinunte, Piazza Armerina, Syracuse, and Agrigento.

Day trips, from nearby Cefalù and Milazzo, to the nearby volcanic Aeolian Islands... [more]

rock formation at seashore at Castel di Tusa

A Brief History of Sicily

People have lived on the island as far back as 10,000 years B.C.

The Sicanis, from the Iberian Peninsula, arrived in Sicily about 4,000 B.C., and settled primarily on the central and western parts of the island. The Sikels followed...[more]

Fresh seafood is available daily. Swordfish, tuna and other blue fish are in abundance. A variety of clams, mussels, and shrimps are also plentiful. One of the favorites of the locals is squid and its cousins cuttlefish and octopus.

pastry cake made in Castel di TusaThe Arabs introduced rice to the European continent through Sicily. They also are credited with inventing ice cream and sorbet. Prior to their arrival, Europeans got their sugar from beets. The Arabs changed all that with the introduction of sugar cane. Marzipan is also an Arab import, fully exploited by the many island confectioners.

sausages made in Castel di Tusa hanging in shopThere are two unique aspects of Sicilian cuisine. One, la cucina povera (the poor man’s cuisine) includes many pasta and vegetable dishes. The other, la cucina baroniale (French-inspired), offers a more elegant, and perhaps, richer fare. The local nobility imported chefs from France in the late 1800’s to elevate the local eating habits.

However, what separates Sicily from the rest of Italy is the street food: arancini (fried rice balls filled with meat ragout’ or cheese), pane e panelle (fried chickpea dumplings), sfincione (Sicilian pizza), lumache (snails), stigliole (intestines) and pane ‘ca meusa (spleen). The last three items are an acquired taste, for sure.

Local Restaurants

Castel di Tusa has seven excellent restaurants, five open all year. The price of a dinner ranges between $25-40. An individual pizza serving goes for about $ 10.

friendly staff in cafe in Castel di TusaThe town has also five cafes, providing among other offerings, freshly brewed espresso, fruit juices, and snack food.

coffee and pastryFor example Pino and Cristoforo Alfieri own the Porto Marino Snack Bar. They bake their pastry early every morning (cannoli, pizzette, cartocci, croissants), and they make their own artisan ice cream and a variety of granitas (lemon, almond, blackberry, strawberry, and boysenberry). Pino’s wife, Nunzia, will make you a plate of pasta utilizing the freshest ingredients.

 

Home

Cuisine

Weather, Getting There, Information

Day Trips

Brief History of Sicily